Soulmate Equation
by Lauren, Christina






Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and One Plus One, this entertaining novel follows single mom and data and statistics wizard Jess Davis as she, using a revolutionary new scientific dating app, is matched with the app's arrogant creator who is not what he seems.





Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of longtime writing partners and best friends Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, the New York Times, USA TODAY, and #1 internationally bestselling authors of the Beautiful and Wild Seasons series, Dating You / Hating You, Autoboyography, Love and Other Words, Roomies, Josh and Hazel&;s Guide to Not Dating, My Favorite Half-Night Stand, and The Unhoneymooners. You can find them online at ChristinaLaurenBooks.com, @ChristinaLauren on Instagram, or @ChristinaLauren on Twitter.





*Starred Review* Jess Davis, a freelance statistician and single mother, is ready to swear off dating after her most recent lackluster outing. And nothing about River Pe˝a, a grumpy if hot regular at her favorite coffee shop, tempts her to change her mind, especially after he insults her and makes an already terrible day worse. Yet somehow learning that he is a scientist who has designed a gene-based matchmaking product piques Jess' interest. On a whim, she provides a sample to the dating service and then is more than skeptical to learn that it identifies River as a nearly perfect match just when his company's IPO is mere months away. Jess' analytical and practical sides war with her desire to protect herself and her daughter, while River's dedication to his company means that his own romantic life has not been a priority, yet they decide to trust the science (and their attraction) and give a relationship a chance. It is a treat to watch Jess and River figure out how to balance what the numbers predicted with their growing feelings. Their journey is made even more enjoyable by the presence of their scene-stealing relatives and friends. This latest romance by the duo Christina Lauren, following The Honey-Don't List (2020), is another winner. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.





*Starred Review* Jess Davis, a freelance statistician and single mother, is ready to swear off dating after her most recent lackluster outing. And nothing about River Pe˝a, a grumpy if hot regular at her favorite coffee shop, tempts her to change her mind, especially after he insults her and makes an already terrible day worse. Yet somehow learning that he is a scientist who has designed a gene-based matchmaking product piques Jess' interest. On a whim, she provides a sample to the dating service and then is more than skeptical to learn that it identifies River as a nearly perfect match just when his company's IPO is mere months away. Jess' analytical and practical sides war with her desire to protect herself and her daughter, while River's dedication to his company means that his own romantic life has not been a priority, yet they decide to trust the science (and their attraction) and give a relationship a chance. It is a treat to watch Jess and River figure out how to balance what the numbers predicted with their growing feelings. Their journey is made even more enjoyable by the presence of their scene-stealing relatives and friends. This latest romance by the duo Christina Lauren, following The Honey-Don't List (2020), is another winner. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.





A DNAÔ?"based dating company matches a harried single mom with the company's gruff founderÔ?"but can their real relationship measure up to their statistics? Jessica Davis isn't interested in dating. She's a busy single mom who's raising her beloved daughter, Juno, with her grandparents (who also raised Jess since her addict mother wasn't exactly a reliable presence). Between her job in statistics, helping Juno with school projects, and bailing her mom out whenever she gets into trouble, Jess' plate is full enough. But one day, when she and her romance-novelist BFF, Fizzy, are working at a coffee shop, they start up a conversation with a grumpy regular they refer to as Americano (based on his drink order). It turns out he's Dr. River Pe├▒a, the founder of a new matchmaking company, GeneticAlly, that matches users based on their DNA. When Jess capitulates to Fizzy by giving the company a spit sample, she finds out she has 98% compatibility with River, a man she already can't stand, and she's not interested in exploring anything. But between losing a big client and giving her mom another loan, Jess needs money, and GeneticAlly offers to pay her to date him. As Jess begins to get to know the real River, she starts to wonder if the data might be right. Lauren, the author duo behind The Honey-Don't List (2020) and countless other rom-coms, not only introduce a fascinating and unique premise, but flawlessly execute it with their trademark humor and charm. Jess is a believable and sympathetic heroineÔ?"it's easy to see why she's skeptical of GeneticAlly's promises but still willing to give it a try. And although River starts out a bit unlikable, his irritable facade conceals hidden depths and passions. As their relationship proceeds, each encounter ratchets up the sexual tension and the emotional stakes, creating a love story that keeps the pages flying. Although the romance is stellar, some of the most enjoyable scenes in the book take place between the other people in Jess' life: her precocious daughter, her hilarious and irreverent best friend, and her sweet, dependable grandparents. Readers won't want to leave these characters or this world. A sexy, science-filled, and surprising romance full of warmth and wit. Copyright Kirkus 2021 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2021 Follett School Solutions