Thornhill
by Peacock, Kathleen






Thornhill is the second book in a supernatural mystery trilogy perfect for readers who love Richelle Meade and HBO's hit drama True Blood. Kathleen Peacock's extraordinary follow-up to her debut novel, Hemlock, features heart-stopping action and a sizzling romance.

Mackenzie's new love, Kyle, plans to turn himself in to the Lupine Syndrome Registration Bureau and enroll in a rehabilitation camp, where he can live with other werewolves. But Mac refuses to accept his decision, especially since the camps are rumored to be torturous. When she follows him there, she uncovers dangerous secrets buried within the walls of Thornhill—a prison for the young and infected—and realizes that the risk to the people she loves is greater than ever before.





Mackenzie Dobson lives in a world turned upside down after the revelation that werewolves exist. When Mac and her friend Jason head to a werewolf rehabilitation camp to find Mac's new love, Kyle, finding the place turns out to be the easy part after Mac and Jason are captured and held against their will. Peacock's characters grapple with typical YA issues, such as identity, courage, and acceptance of self. Less dramatic and riveting than the series debut (Hemlock, 2012), this middle book sags with its lingering stay in the camp. Unanswered questions ensure readers will return for the next title. Copyright 2013 Booklist Reviews.





The plot wallows as Mackenzie struggles to reunite with her werewolf boyfriend, Kyle, in this sequel to Hemlock (2012). She hopes to find him in Denver, something of a mecca for those infected with Lupine Syndrome. With two of her best friends-boyfriend wannabe Jason, recently a member of the werewolf-hating Trackers, and werewolf Serena-she tracks him down at a werewolf nightclub presided over by her father, who abandoned her three years before. There's little time for reunions, though, as a Tracker raid quickly sends Mackenzie, Kyle and Serena to Thornhill, a model "rehabilitation camp." There, Mackenzie poses as a werewolf, hoping to effect a rescue from inside. Complicating matters is the removal of Serena to a top-secret facility within Thornhill, for no-doubt-nefarious purposes. This is too bad, as Serena was one of the more interesting characters in the first book, but a couple other wolves-Eve, a punk protégée of Mackenzie's father's, and Dex, an internee with dark suspicions-help to compensate. Unfortunately, far too much of the plot is given over to Mackenzie's hand-wringing over having put everybody in danger and the swoony kisses she shares with Kyle in stolen moments. Real-world parallels to such issues as closeted homosexuality and the spread of HIV are quickly indicated and then dropped. A semi-climactic confrontation leaves characters poised for Book 3; only series devotees will be as well. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up) Copyright Kirkus 2013 Kirkus/BPI Communications.All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2020 Follett School Solutions