Brave Girl, Quiet Girl
by Hyde, Catherine Ryan






Kidnapped during a carjacking, 2-year-old Etta is discovered and protected by an abandoned homeless teen who forges an unlikely friendship with the child's financially strapped single mother. By the best-selling author of Stay.





Brooke, a single mom living in LA, has had a run of bad luck lately. Her recent divorce brought a certain sense of clarity to her life, but it also took a toll on her finances. Brooke's mother offers to let Brooke and her two-year-old daughter, Etta, move in until they get back on their feet. It's not easy for Brooke to live under her mom's roof, but her charity is much needed. And then the unthinkable happens: Brooke gets carjacked and can only scream helplessly as her assailant drives away with Etta strapped into the backseat. Though Etta is recovered fairly quickly, Brooke's questions about the night she spent in the company of Molly, a homeless teenager, continue to prick at her. An unlikely friendship forms between the two women, both victims of circumstance. Examining the razor's edge between comfort and poverty, Hyde's (Stay, 2019) latest novel is a warm and clear-eyed look at what it means to be lost-and found. Fans of Hannah Beckerman and Meg Donohue will adore Brave Girl, Quiet Girl. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2020 Follett School Solutions