Before I Let You Go
by Rimmer, Kelly






A ripped-from-the-headlines print debut by the best-selling author of When I Lost You depicts a woman who sacrifices everything to protect her self-destructive sister from addiction and her newborn niece from a law that would tear their family apart. Original. 150,000 first printing.





The 2 a.m. phone call Lexie receives may be the first she's gotten in two years, but it's only the most recent in a series of requests to be rescued that her sister, Annie, has made over the years. Annie's drug habit has had her asking for Lexie's help before, but this time, Annie's pregnant, and unless she can get clean, she risks jail time as well as custody of her baby. Lexie can't help herself from running to Annie's side, sure she knows what's best, only to realize she may not be what Annie needs at all. Lexie's narration illustrates her struggle with codependence and questions how society treats drug addicts in general and pregnant addicts in particular. Annie tells her story through excerpts from her journal, attempting to understand the events that brought her to her current situation. The honest language elicits a range of emotions in the best ways. Rimmer's (A Mother's Confession, 2016) fifth novel is guaranteed to appeal to fans of JoJo Moyes, Liza Palmer, and anyone who loves to read with hankie in hand. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2018 Follett School Solutions