Carnegie's Maid
by Benedict, Marie






An impoverished Irish immigrant in the industrial 1860s takes a job as a lady's maid in the home of prominent businessman Andrew Carnegie, with whom she falls in love before going missing, triggering Carnegie's search for answers and the establishment ofhis enduring legacy.





Immigrant farm-girl Clara Kelley clambers out of steerage and, by assuming the identity of a fellow passenger with the same name, hops onto the dock and straight into a position as lady's maid to Mrs. Carnegie, the exacting mother of Andrew, captain of industry. By turns tirelessly ambitious, philanthropic, and deeply influenced by his bootstrap-climb from poverty, Andrew is the personification of the American dream. He values Clara's intellect and seeming honesty, but their burgeoning relationship jeopardizes her position and ability to aid her family, desperately struggling back home in Ireland. Despite the Civil War setting, Benedict's (The Other Einstein, 2016) novel has a Gilded Age feel. Info dumps occur, and sustained suspension of disbelief is required, yet the story is engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men's great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2018 Follett School Solutions