Other Woman
by Jones, Sandie






"The most twisty, addictive and unputdownable debut thriller you'll read this year. HE LOVES YOU: Adam adores Emily. Emily thinks Adam's perfect, the man she thought she'd never meet. BUT SHE LOVES YOU NOT: Lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves. AND SHE'LL STOP AT NOTHING: Emily chose Adam, but she didn't choose his mother Pammie. There's nothing a mother wouldn't do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. THE OTHER WOMAN will have you questioning her on every page" -





SANDIE JONES has worked as a freelance journalist for over twenty years, and has written for publications including the Sunday Times, Woman's Weekly and the Daily Mail. She lives in London with her husband and three children. The Other Woman is her debut novel.





Emily has no idea what's in store for her when she responds to Adam Banks' casual flirtation at a London hotel bar. Adam wins her over with clever humor, and their relationship ramps up with heady passion, all signs pointing toward a happy future. That is, until Adam introduces Emily to his mother, Pammie, and their story takes a dark turn. Pammie raises the quintessential codependent-mother shtick to the next level, sabotaging her son's relationship with carefully orchestrated deception, emotional outbursts, and a formidable gaslighting campaign. When Pammie's announcement that she's been diagnosed with cancer prompts Adam to cancel the wedding, Emily is determined to expose Pammie's lies. But, instead of outing Pammie and restoring her healthy relationship with Adam, Emily discovers a terrifying secret about Adam's ex-fiancée's death. This sneak-attack thriller's power is in its relatability; everything from Emily's slightly snarky, confessional tone to her relationship's incremental slide toward discontent is uncomfortably familiar. Emotionally tense, with layers of deception offering strong appeal for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Christobel Kent, and Karen Perry. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.





A woman meets her dream guy, but his mother is something out of a nightmare in Jones' debut thriller. Emily Havistock is immediately attracted to the handsome Adam Banks when they meet each other's eyes across the room at a networking event for her London consulting firm, and even though she wasn't looking for a boyfriend, it doesn't take long before they're seeing each other every night. Emily's last relationship ended in disaster, but she feels a true connection to Adam, although he's not forthcoming about his past. A couple of months into the relationship, he invites her to meet his mother, Pammie, and assures Emily that Pammie will love her. On the way, when Emily makes a light joke about his mom's taste in music, Adam snaps at her. One would think that Emily might have considered cutting her losses then and there. But, no, Emily is enamored with Adam, so she vows to make it work. What follows is a hellish sequence of passive aggressive nastiness on the part of Pammie tha t would bring any woman to her knees, begging for mercy. Emily doesn't feel like she can confide in Adam since he treats his mother like a saint, but she does have the support of her flatmate, Pippa, and best friend Seb. It doesn't help that Emily feels undeniable sparks with Adam's younger, very attractive brother, James. Things with Pammie eventually come to a head in a spectacular way, and Emily begins to realize that Adam may not be as perfect as she thought. Emily, who narrates, is relatable even if readers will root for her to put the fiendish, and fiendishly clever, Pammie in her place and smack Adam for not sticking up for her. Jones ratchets up the tension to the breaking point and throws in a curveball that will make readers' heads spin. Melodramatic yet wildly entertaining, with a smashing twist. Copyright Kirkus 2018 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2018 Follett School Solutions