Little Secrets
by Hillier, Jennifer






A year after the disappearance of her son, Marin, a shadow of herself, hires a P.I. to pick up where the police left off, only to discover that her husband is having an affair with a younger woman, which is a problem Marin wants to fix by any means necessary.





JENNIFER HILLIER was born and raised in Toronto, Canada, and lived in the Seattle area for years before returning home to Toronto, where she now lives with her family. Her book, Jar of Hearts, was the Winner of the International Thriller Writers Award for Best Hardcover Novel.

Jennifer is the author of Wonderland, Creep, and Jar of Hearts.





Sixteen months after Marin Machado's son, Sebastian, was kidnapped from Pike Place Market in Seattle, she finally hears from the private detective she hired. But instead of delivering news about Sebastian, Vanessa Castro (introduced in Wonderland, 2016) drops a bomb: Marin's husband, Derek, is cheating on her with an art student named McKenzie Li. Suddenly, Marin's obsession with hunting for signs of Sebastian on the dark web shifts to devouring McKenzie's social-media posts. Glimpses of Derek and his generous gifts fuel Marin's rage, and she vents to her best friend, Sal, who suggests she take action and meet with a fixer he knows. But instead of eliminating the threat to her marriage, Marin's meeting with Sal's fixer begins the unraveling of hers and Derek's deepest secrets, along with the horrible truth about Sebastian's abduction. Hillier cleverly masks a villain with dueling sympathies, pitting Marin's mounting despair against "professional girlfriend" McKenzie's calculated manipulations and Sal's decades of unrequited love. Hillier, known for crafting creepy psych thrillers (Jar of Hearts, 2018), offers a compelling take on the domestic thriller. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.





The day Marin's 4-year-old son, Sebastian, was kidnapped was the day her life stopped. But things can always get worse. Lured away from Seattle's Pike Place Market by someone dressed in a Santa Claus suit offering the expensive lollipop Marin had stalled on buying, Sebastian was easily taken. Since that day, 16 months ago, Marin's life has fallen apart. She fantasizes about suicide, and now her best friend, Sal, texts "You alive?" every day. Barely able to make it to the upscale beauty salon she founded, Marin now simply cuts hair, admittedly for celebrity clients, but she's turned over most of the business to her right-hand woman, Sadie. Her husband, Derek, still won't talk about the tragedy. The police have given up looking. But Marin hasn't. She's hired a private investigator to search under every rock. But instead of finding evidence of Sebastian's whereabouts—or even evidence of his continued existence—the PI finds evidence that Derek is having an affair, which lights a fire under Marin: The kidnapper may be elusive, but Kenzie, Derek's mistress, is very real and a perfect tar get for Marin's rage. Hillier deftly metamorphoses Marin's suffocating guilt over her son's disappearance into a searingly hot anger at Kenzie, an anger that turns reckless. Once Kenzie comes on the scene, however, Hillier deepens the tale from one of simple vengeance into a psychological thriller by shifting perspectives between Marin and Kenzie, revealing not only the two women's secrets, but also skeletons in the closets of a few more characters. The tensions ratchet up as nefarious motives and twisted allegiances come to light. A delightfully twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of You and Gone Girl. Copyright Kirkus 2020 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2020 Follett School Solutions