Before and Again
by Delinsky, Barbara






A Vermont resort town where many residents are hiding from their pasts is thrown into turmoil by a teen hacker who attracts the Feds and the media, forcing a woman to choose between running again and fighting for what she has rebuilt.





BARBARA DELINSKY is the author of more than twenty New York Times bestselling books. She has been published in twenty-eight languages worldwide. A lifelong New Englander, Delinsky earned a B.A. in psychology at Tufts University and an M.A. in sociology at Boston College. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, more books than she'll ever be able to read, two tennis racquets, and enough electronic devices to keep in close touch with her children and their families.





Five years ago, Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for a split second and caused a crash that killed her daughter, Lily. Now she lives as Maggie Reid in sleepy Devon, Vermont, where folks accept her as a generous friend, talented potter, and make-up artist for the upscale spa at the inn without asking about her past. When the new owner of the inn turns out to be her ex-husband, Edward, she panics. But Edward's motivations are not sinister. He never stopped loving Mackenzie, but perhaps he hasn't fully dealt with Lily's death, either. Then Maggie's best friend Grace's teenage son is accused of hacking, and it looks like Grace has been hiding a past of her own. With a bucolic New England setting and an emotional story that plumbs depths without feeling too heavy, Delinsky (Blueprints, 2015) perfectly portrays the temptations of starting over and, in Edward, the necessity of being found again. This story of a competent woman realizing she deserves the perfect guy standing before her will appeal to readers of Nora Roberts and Elin Hildebrand. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A major advertising campaign targeting libraries, blogs, and book clubs will drop just in time for the beach-read season. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.





A young woman loses her daughter in a car accident and struggles to build a new life for herself in the aftermath of tragedy. Mackenzie Cooper was driving her 5-year-old daughter to a play date when she missed a stop sign and collided with another car, killing both the other driver and her own daughter. A few years later, after Mackenzie has been divorced by her husband, dropped by her friends, disowned by her mother, and dragged through the mud by the press, she has finally created a quiet existence for herself. She lives in the sleepy town of Devon, Vermont, with two cats and a dog and works as a makeup artist at the spa in a local inn. She's changed her name to Maggie Reid, and almost no one in Devon knows about the accident or the probation officer who's been keeping tabs on her since that fateful day. Everything changes for Maggie the day her new friend Grace's son is criminally charged with high-profile computer hacking, bringing the press swarming to Devon and dredging up many painful memories for Maggie. Worse yet, when Maggie accompanies Grace to meet with an attorney, they bump into Maggie's ex-husband, Edward. Maggie learns that Edward has purchased the inn where she works, and he is moving to Devon. As Edward reaches out to Maggie with one overture after another, it quickly becomes apparent that the inn is not the only reason her ex was drawn to this particular town. Before she can reconcile with Edward, however, Maggie must find a way to accept the person she was before the accident and forgive herself for her past. Through a fast-paced and accessible narrative voice, Delinsky tackles many weighty issues in this complicated tale of friendship, loss, love, and redemption. A tale about surmounting life's most difficult moments and finding hope when one least expects it. Copyright Kirkus 2018 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2018 Follett School Solutions