Max Meow 2 : Donuts and Danger
by Gallagher, John






"Funny, furry and fantastic!" -Judd Winick, New York Times Bestselling Author of the Hilo series

Calling all GRAPHIC NOVEL FANS! Do you like DONUTS? Do you crave DANGER? Then Max Meow-the graphic novel series with CAT-ITUDE-is PURR-fect for you! Just right for fans of Dogman, Bad Guys, Hilo and anyone who LOVES TO LAUGH!


Meowza! Max was just getting used to being a SECRET SUPER HERO when his and his best friend Mindy's evil look-alikes show up in Kittyopolis! And what's worse, they're determined to take over the world's donut supply-and Max and Mindy are getting blamed! Can Max and Mindy work together to save the day-and the donuts?! Find out in Max Meow Cat Crusader Book 2: Donuts and Danger! A deliciously funny, action-packed new series that's so good you'll want seconds! Bonus! Includes How to Draw Mindy AND Max Meow's SECRET Donut Scavenger hunt!
er with glee! BONUS: Includes how to draw Max Meow!

"Max Meow is good-hearted fun!" -Kazu Kibuishi, creator of Amulet

"Max Meow's super heroics will have kids meow-ling with laughter!" -John Patrick Green, creator of the InvestiGators series

"A heaping helping of candy colored fun!" -Ben Hatke, creator of the Zita the Spacegirl and Mighty Jack series

"Cats and kittens alike will be thrilled to finally have a hero they can look up to." -Mike Maihack, creator of Cleopatra in Space series

"Meowza! Let's hear it for the coolest new cat crusader, Max!" -Jennifer & Matthew Holm, co-creators of the Babymouse series

"Max Meow is sure to save any young reader's day with super-laughs on every page!" -Norm Feuti, syndicated cartoonist and creator of the Hello, Hedgehog series





John Gallagher is the art director of the National Wildlife Federation's "Ranger Rick" magazine and has been drawing comics since he was five (John learned to read through comics and went on to earn the distinction of reading every book in his elementary school library!). John is also the cofounder of "Kids Love Comics" (an organization devoted to using graphic novels to promote literacy) and leads workshops teaching kids how to create their own comics. John lives in Virginia with his wife and their three kids. Visit him at MaxMeow.Com, on twitter @johnBGallagher, on facebook @MaxMeowCatCrusader and on instagram @johngallagher_cartoonist.





Max and Mindy are back in action and must face old foes and nefarious new look-alikes. Max Meow, feline resident of Kittyopolis, is secretly the superhero Cat Crusader, and he's excited to no longer work solo. His BSFF (Best Science Friend Forever), brown-skinned human Mindy, has gained powers and created her own superhero persona, Science Kitty. Problem is, she puts so much pressure on herself to be perfect that she's too scared to be a hero out in public. When havoc is wreaked at Food Fest, followed by a series of robberies, not only is the world of donut sales in peril, but the whole city is in danger. Old and new villains team up, and Cat Crusader will need Science Kitty's skillsâ?"even if they are imperfectâ?"in order to save the day and the donuts. This book tries to do a lot and isn't always successful: An overabundance of plot points and characters makes it lack focus and overall cohesion. The more the story progresses, the messier and more jumbled it becomes, bogging down the pace. The lesson about the pitfalls of perfectionism does add some depth, and the brightly colored cartoon art plus the combination of silliness, science, and superpowers make this tale inviting. Fans of the first book may enjoy spending more time with these cool cats, but hopefully their next adventure will be smoother. Overstuffed. (drawing instructions) (Graphic fantasy. 7-10) Copyright Kirkus 2021 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.





Max and Mindy are back in action and must face old foes and nefarious new look-alikes. Max Meow, feline resident of Kittyopolis, is secretly the superhero Cat Crusader, and he's excited to no longer work solo. His BSFF (Best Science Friend Forever), brown-skinned human Mindy, has gained powers and created her own superhero persona, Science Kitty. Problem is, she puts so much pressure on herself to be perfect that she's too scared to be a hero out in public. When havoc is wreaked at Food Fest, followed by a series of robberies, not only is the world of donut sales in peril, but the whole city is in danger. Old and new villains team up, and Cat Crusader will need Science Kitty's skillsâ?"even if they are imperfectâ?"in order to save the day and the donuts. This book tries to do a lot and isn't always successful: An overabundance of plot points and characters makes it lack focus and overall cohesion. The more the story progresses, the messier and more jumbled it becomes, bogging down the pace. The lesson about the pitfalls of perfectionism does add some depth, and the brightly colored cartoon art plus the combination of silliness, science, and superpowers make this tale inviting. Fans of the first book may enjoy spending more time with these cool cats, but hopefully their next adventure will be smoother. Overstuffed. (drawing instructions) (Graphic fantasy. 7-10) Copyright Kirkus 2021 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2021 Follett School Solutions