Arlo & Pips 1 : King of the Birds
by Gravel, Elise






Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips. 

Like most crows, Arlo has a big brain. But Arlo has something else: a little pal who's not afraid to tell him when he's being insufferable!

In the first of three episodes, a battle of the brains and bird-to-bird banter soon turns into an unexpected friendship. Arlo and Pips' adventures include a visit the big city and the beach on their hunt for shiny things and French fries. Cool crow facts are included throughout the book.

Everyone's crowing about Arlo & Pips, with Kirkus praising it as "a perfect match for newly independent readers"!

More praise for Arlo & Pips #1: King of the Crows: A New York Public Library Best Book * A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best * A Junior Library Guild Selection * "An unexpected friendship story! In three short graphic chapters marked by [Gravel's] signature sly humor, facts about crows are sprinkled throughout, making the reader believe that maybe crows are truly as amazing as Arlo says.' 'The Horn Book (starred review)





Two birds become fine feathered friends in this early graphic novel. Arlo is a cocky crow confident that there is "no greater bird than... / ME. THE CROW, king of the feathered world." Pips is a small yellow bird who pokes questioning holes in Arlo's bravado. Arlo doesn't mind Pips' frank queries, seeing them as an opportunity to show off his skills, and throughout the book the two maintain an amicable relationship. There is a thin plotline in which Pips shows Arlo around the city where Pips lives, and the two take a trip to the beach, but the real driving energy is the relationship between the two and the opportunities for gentle humor their interactions provide. Through Pips' inquisitiveness and Arlo's desire to prove himself, readers also learn much about the intelligence, diet, and behavior of crows. Relevant fun facts about crows are interwoven throughout the book, often in casual and easily accessible footnotes that provide informational context to Arlo's self-aggrandizing claims. Deceptively simple, this graphic novel's straightforward sentences, limited color scheme, and thick black outlines make this a perfect match for newly independent readers. Both fans of Gravel's previous work and newcomers alike will be delighted. A charming treasure. (Graphic fiction. 6-10) Copyright Kirkus 2020 Kirkus/BPI Communications. All rights reserved.






Terms of Use   ©Copyright 2021 Follett School Solutions